Resolution No. 227

Appointing Members To The Recycling Oversight Committee

Resolution Information





Referred to: The Energy and Environment Committee (Chairwoman Greene and Legislators Bruno, Criswell, Petit, and Wawro)


Legislator Laura Petit offers the following:


          WHEREAS, pursuant to County of Ulster Local Law No. 8 of 2007, Section 26, a Recycling Oversight Committee was created; and


WHEREAS, pursuant to said Local Law, the Recycling Oversight Committee shall consist of one member of the Resource Recovery Agency designated by the Agency Board to serve as a non-voting, ex-officio member and not more than eleven (11) voting members to be appointed by the County Legislature, consisting of an appointee from the following:


                              (1)      Town Supervisor’s Association;

                              (2)      City of Kingston;

                              (3)      Energy and Environment Committee of the Legislature;

                              (4)      Ulster County Environmental Management Council;

                              (5)      Commercial Waste Hauling Industry;

                              (6)      Municipal Recycling Coordinators;

(7)      Commercial or Institutional Sector;

                              (8)      Multi Family Dwelling Interest; and


          WHEREAS, pursuant to said Local Law, “Additionally the County Legislature shall appoint three (3) at-large community members with interest and concern which may include students but shall not include members that fall into previously mentioned categories;” and


WHEREAS, current members of the Recycling Oversight Committee have been appointed pursuant to Resolution No. 382 of November 20, 2018, Resolution No. 94 of March 19, 2019, and Resolution No. 173 of May 21, 2019; and


WHEREAS, vacancies exist due to the current legislative membership of the Energy and Environment Committee of the Legislature, and the resignation of at-large member Sarah Wenk; now, therefore be it


RESOLVED, upon recommendation of the Energy and Environment Committee, the following individuals are hereby appointed to the Ulster County Recycling Oversight Committee for a term coinciding with other members, effective immediately and expiring on November 20, 2021:



Energy and Environment Committee Member – Legislator Al Bruno


At-large Member – John Wackman;


and moves its adoption.





AYES:                       NOES:    



Passed Committee: Energy and Environment on ______________.





Current Text: PDF



Updated: September 21, 2020