Resolution No. 253

Supporting The Passage Of A09415/S06987 To Amend The Empire State Film Production Tax Credit

Resolution Information




Referred to: The Economic Development, Tourism, Housing, Planning and Transit

Committee (Chairman Maloney and Legislators Berky, Delaune, Lapp, Litts, Maio

and Rodriguez)

Chairman Kenneth J. Ronk, Jr. and Legislators Allen, Bartels, Berky, Briggs,

Delaune, Donaldson, Greene, Heppner, Loughran, J. Parete, and Rodriguez offer the


WHEREAS, New York State established the Empire State Film Production

Tax Credit and included an extra tax credit as an incentive to encourage qualified

production companies to relocate in Upstate New York; and

 WHEREAS, the original boundaries delineated as Upstate New York in this

Empire State Film Production Tax Credit legislation included Ulster County and 49

counties that coincided with that part of New York State outside the Metropolitan

Commuter Transportation District (MCTD); and

 WHEREAS, the program was expanded with additional tax credits for the

period 2015 through 2019 and a new delineation was established that included 42

upstate counties but omitted Ulster County and seven other counties previously

included in the program that were outside the MCTD; and

 WHEREAS, Ulster County has seen the benefits of a growing technology

sector and is uniquely positioned with a large number of local residents working in

technology fields that are ready to engage in the entertainment industry, creating

hundreds of much needed high quality jobs; and

 WHEREAS, this oversight may encourage these talented technological and

post production trades to move to neighboring counties, some of whom are in the

same Congressional, Senate and Assembly districts; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the Ulster County Legislature supports the New York State

Assembly’s passage of Assembly Bill A09415 and the New York State Senate’s

passage of Senate Bill S06987 to increase the number of counties in which services

can be performed, including Ulster County, to qualify for the Empire State Film

Production Credit; and, be it further

RESOLVED, the Clerk of the Ulster County Legislature shall forward copies

of this resolution to Governor Andrew Cuomo, Assembly and Senate Majority and

Minority Leaders, Assembly and Senate Local Government Committee Chairmen, all

Ulster County elected Assemblymen and Senators, 


and move its adoption.


AYES: 22 NOES: 0

(Absent: Legislator Gerentine)

Passed Committee: Economic Development, Tourism, Housing, Planning and

Transit on May 3, 2016






I, the undersigned Clerk of the Legislature of the County of Ulster, hereby certify that the foregoing resolution is

the original resolution adopted by the Ulster County Legislature on the 17th Day of May in the year Two Thousand and

Sixteen, and said resolution shall remain on file in the office of said clerk.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and seal of the County of Ulster this 18th Day of May in

the year Two Thousand and Sixteen.

|s| Victoria A. Fabella

Victoria A. Fabella, Clerk

Ulster County Legislature 

Current Text: PDF


Updated: January 24, 2019