Resolution No. 271

Urging The Governor Of New York To Deny The Iroquois Pipeline Expansion

Resolution Information




Referred to: The Energy, Environment and Sustainability Committee (Chairman Hewitt and Legislators Donaldson, Greene, Litts, Nolan, Stewart, and Walls)


Legislator Limina Grace Harmon and Legislators Clinton, Criswell, Donaldson, Greene, Hewitt, Sperry and Stewart offer the following:


WHEREAS, the proposed expansion of the 30-year-old Iroquois natural gas pipeline will significantly increase the fracked gas volume, escalating environmental and health risks in the Hudson Valley; and


 WHEREAS, emissions from compressor stations release pollutants like nitrogen oxide and the carcinogen benzene, proven to cause serious health threats, thus violating New Yorkers' right to a clean and healthy environment under the Green Amendment; and


 WHEREAS, historical data documents that natural gas pipeline infrastructure, including compressor stations, pose significant safety hazards, evidenced by frequent incidents of leaks, explosions, and resultant fatalities and environmental damage; and


 WHEREAS, the pipeline's expansion is in direct conflict with New York's Climate Leadership and Community Protection Act (CLCPA) statutory goals, fostering continued reliance on fossil fuels and undermining the state’s statutorily required transition to a sustainable and renewable energy future; and


 WHEREAS, Governor Hochul has the responsibility and authority to protect New York's environment and public health and to ensure the full implementation of the CLCPA, with the power to deny this expansion as it is in direct conflict with the state law and thus the state’s environmental and health priorities; now, therefore be it


RESOLVED, that the Ulster County Legislature calls on Governor Hochul to immediately deny the permit for the Iroquois natural gas pipeline expansion, thereby upholding New York's CLCPA and the state’s environmental standards and commitment to a sustainable future; and, be it further


 RESOLVED, that the Clerk of the Legislature shall send a copy of this resolution to U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand, U.S. Senator Charles Schumer, U.S. Congressman Pat Ryan, Governor Kathy Hochul, and all Ulster County elected State Assemblymembers and Senators,            


and moves its adoption.





AYES:                    NOES:      



Passed Committee: Energy, Environment and Sustainability on ________________.






Current Text: PDF


Updated: May 30, 2024

Votes on this Resolution

yes no abstained no vote