5. Resolution No. 155

Creating The Ulster & Delaware Corridor Advisory Committee - Ulster County Legislature

Resolution Information




Referred to: The Economic Development, Tourism, Housing, Planning and Transit

Committee (Chairman Briggs and Legislators Allen, Archer, Bartels, Litts, Maio, and

Maloney), and The Ways and Means Committee (Chairman Gerentine and

Legislators Allen, Belfiglio, Briggs, Gregorius, Maio, Maloney, and Richard Parete)

Legislators Lynn Archer, Manna Jo Greene, and Kenneth Ronk offer the following:

WHEREAS, the County of Ulster purchased a 38.6-mile Ulster and Delaware

Railroad (U & D) corridor in 1979 to promote economic development through

expanded tourism and to provide recreational opportunities; and

WHEREAS, the Ulster County Legislature had determined that it was critical

to establish a policy for the future uses of this important, under-utilized, public asset;


WHEREAS, Resolution No. 275 of 2014 establishes Ulster County’s policy

for a segmented “rail with trail” plan for the U&D corridor; and

WHEREAS, it is incumbent for the Ulster County Legislature to ensure that

its policies are in agreement with attaining the greatest good for its constituents; and

WHEREAS, the long-term economic success of this policy warrants a

heightened fact finding, public examination and study of its policy for the U&D

corridor situated within Ulster County to determine the most beneficial options

obtainable; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Ulster County Charter Section C-16 and the

Administrative Code Section A2-11: “Advisory committees, commissions and boards.

Members of all citizens’ committees, commissions and boards appointed pursuant to

Section C-11K of the Charter shall serve at the pleasure of the County Legislature.

They shall serve without compensation other than for actual and necessary expenses

within appropriations made therefor, unless otherwise provided by resolution of the

County Legislature. The Chairman of the County Legislature shall be a member exofficio of all such committees, commissions and boards;” now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the “U&D Corridor Advisory Committee” shall be

established for the purpose of:

a. Conducting a thorough reexamination and study of the work completed to

date, with the addition of an economic assessment, by township, with

respect to optimum economic feasibility of the U&D Corridor;


b. Following Ulster County’s procurement process, the committee will retain

the services of an independent consultant to assist with the review and

additional research, as defined by the committee, to help determine the

most appropriate development of the U&D Corridor;

c. By no later than November 30, 2015, the Advisory Committee shall

present its findings to the Economic Development, Tourism, Housing,

Planning and Transit Committee Ulster County Legislature, in the form

of a written report, which shall set forth proposed next steps in the process

of carrying out Ulster County’s existing policy regarding the U&D

Corridor, or any amendments thereto ; and, be it further

RESOLVED, that the membership of the U&D Corridor Advisory Committee

shall be comprised of the following members for a term commencing present through

December 31, 2015:

1. Lynn Archer (District 21)

2. Ken J. Ronk (District 13)

3. Mary Beth Maio (District 10) Carl Belfiglio (District 8)

4. Herb Litts (District 9)

5. David Donaldson (District 6)

6. Manna Jo Greene (District 19)

7. Tracey Bartels (District 16)

8. James F. Maloney (District 4)

9. Jeanette Provenzano ( District 7)

and, be it further

RESOLVED, to retain the services of an independent consultant pursuant to

(b) above, the 2015 Ulster County Budget is hereby amended as follows:




A4-1331-4553 Contingency $30,000.00


A4-1006-4400 Other Fees for Professional Services $30,000.00


and, be it further

RESOLVED, the U&D Corridor Advisory Committee will seek input from

groups including, but not limited to, the Environmental Management Council, the

Ulster County Trails Advisory Committee, the Catskill Mountain Railroad as current

lessee; the Ulster County Department of Planning, Department of the Environment,

Tourism Department, the Ulster County Transportation Council and the NYC DEP;

and, be it further

RESOLVED, that the County Executive may appoint staff from the Executive

branch of government to assist the U&D Corridor Advisory Committee in its work,

and move its adoption.


AYES: 21 NOES: 1

(Noes: Legislator Gerentine)

(Absent: Legislator Wishnick)

Passed Committee: Economic Development, Tourism, Housing, Planning, and

Transit on April 7, 2015

Passed Committee: Ways and Means on April 21, 2015



Legislator Ronk motioned, seconded by Legislator Gregorius, to amend the

Resolution as follows:

1) In Section (c) of the first RESOLVED, strike “Economic Development,

Tourism, Housing, Planning and Transit Committee”, and replace it with

“Ulster County Legislature”.

2) In Section (c) of the first RESOLVED, insert the language “or any

amendments thereto” as indicated above in bold font.

3) In the second RESOLVED, strike the name Mary Beth Maio (District 10), and

replace it with Carl Belfiglio (District 8).

4) In the second RESOLVED, add two additional members, James F. Maloney

(District 4) and Jeanette Provenzano ( District 7).



AYES: 21 NOES: 1

(Noes: Legislator Donaldson)

(Absent: Legislator Wishnick)




I, the undersigned Clerk of the Legislature of the County of Ulster, hereby certify that the foregoing resolution is

the original resolution adopted by the Ulster County Legislature on the 21st Day of April in the year Two Thousand and

Fifteen, and said resolution shall remain on file in the office of said clerk.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and seal of the County of Ulster this 23rd Day of April in

the year Two Thousand and Fifteen.

|s| Victoria A. Fabella

Victoria A. Fabella, Clerk

Ulster County Legislature

Submitted to the County Executive this Returned unsigned by the County Executive this

23rd Day of April, 2015. 28th Day of April, 2015.

|s| Victoria A. Fabella |unsigned|

Victoria A. Fabella, Clerk Michael P. Hein, County Executive

Ulster County Legislature 

Current Text: PDF


Updated: October 27, 2020