Resolution No. 444 August 20, 2024

Increasing Membership And Appointing Member To The Ulster County Trails Advisory Committee – Ulster County Legislature

Referred to: The Public Works, Capital Projects and Transportation Committee (Chair Nolan and Legislators Donaldson, Kovacs, Litts, and McCollough)

Chair of the Public Works, Capital Projects and Transportation Committee, Kathy Nolan, and Legislators Peter Criswell and Abe Uchitelle offer the following:

WHEREAS, pursuant to Resolution No. 189 adopted on April 16, 2024, the Ulster County Trails Advisory Committee was reestablished to be appointed by the Members of the Ulster County Legislature for the purposes of i) advising the Ulster County Legislature on trail-related issues, and ii) advising the Legislature on the adoption, repeal or amendments to Laws and Regulations as they relate to Ulster County Trails; and

WHEREAS, current membership of the Trails Advisory Committee consists of:

- 1) Ulster County Legislature (3 members): Legislators Kathy Nolan, Eric Stewart, and Jason Kovacs
- 2) Trails Community (2 members): Karl A. Beard and Kevin Smith
- 3) Historical Community (2 member): David Church and Trey Hotaling
- 4) Hiking & Biking Communities (2 members): Hank Alicandri and Cara Gentry
- 5) Other Non-Motorized Transportation Communities (2 members): Tenny Gravatt and Mary McNamara
- 6) Local Government Officials (3 members): Mike Baden (Supervisor, Town of Rochester), Kevin VanBlarcum (Town Board Member, Town of Shandaken), and TBD
- 7) New York City Department of Environmental Protection (DEP)* (1 member): Tom Davidock
- 8) New York State Department of Transportation (DOT)* (1 member): Arthur Rose
- 9) Liaison to Ulster County Traffic Safety Board* (1 member): Lou Klepner

(*denotes non-voting members); and

WHEREAS, the Ulster County Trails Advisory has recommended increasing the membership to consist of not more than fifteen (15) Voting Members, with an additional voting member being added to represent the Ulster County Planning Board; and

WHEREAS; Mike Baden is no longer eligible to serve as a member of the Trails Advisory Committee as a local government official; now, therefore be it

- Page 2 -

Resolution No. 444 August 20, 2024

Increasing Membership And Appointing Member To The Ulster County Trails Advisory Committee – Ulster County Legislature

RESOLVED, the Ulster County Trails Advisory Committee shall consist of not more than fifteen (15) Voting Members to be appointed by the Members of the Ulster County Legislature; and, be it further

RESOLVED, Mike Baden shall no longer serve as a member of the Trails Advisory Committee representing local government officials (3 members – two of which remain vacant); and, be it further

RESOLVED, the Ulster County Legislature hereby appoints the following individual as a member of the Ulster County Trails Advisory Committee for a term commencing immediately and expiring December 31, 2025:

Ulster County Planning Board (1 member): Mike Baden,

and moves its adoption.

ADOPTED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES: 20 NOES: 0

(Absent: Legislators Clinton, Lopez, and Stewart)

Passed Committee: Public Works, Capital Projects and Transportation on August 10, 2024

FINANCIAL IMPACT: NONE

STATE OF NEW YORK

ss:

COUNTY OF ULSTER

I, the undersigned Clerk of the Legislature of the County of Ulster, hereby certify that the foregoing resolution is the original resolution adopted by the Ulster County Legislature on the 20^{th} Day of August in the year Two Thousand Twenty-Four, and said resolution shall remain on file in the office of said clerk.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and seal of the County of Ulster this 22^{nd} Day of August in the year Two Thousand Twenty-Four.

[s] Victoria A. Fabella Victoria A. Fabella, Clerk Ulster County Legislature