Resolution No. 279 June 17, 2025

Confirming Appointments Of Neil Bettez And Dominick Mercurio To The Traffic Safety Board

Referred to: The Law Enforcement and Public Safety Committee (Chairwoman Hansut and Legislators Clinton, Hewitt, Maloney, McCollough and Walls)

Chairwoman of the Law Enforcement and Public Safety Committee, Gina Hansut, and Deputy Chair Chris Hewitt offer the following:

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section C-120 (A) of the Ulster County Charter and Section A 40-3 of the Administrative Code:

"Traffic Safety Board.

A. There shall be a Traffic Safety Board which shall exercise all powers and duties set forth in Article 43 of Vehicle and Traffic Law and heretofore or hereafter lawfully granted or imposed by the Charter, local law, resolution of the County Legislature, or by applicable law not inconsistent with the Charter. The Traffic Safety Board shall consist of 12 persons appointed for terms of three years by the County Executive, subject to the confirmation of the County Legislature, except that four members will be initially appointed to a term of one year and four members to a term of two years. Members shall be residents of and qualified electors in the County. At least one but not more than three members shall be resident(s) in the City of Kingston. The Traffic Safety Board shall elect annually a Chairman, Vice Chairman, and a Secretary from its members as provided in Article 43 of the Vehicle and Traffic Law. The Coordinator of Traffic Safety shall serve on the Traffic Safety Board ex officio;" and

WHEREAS, the County Executive has appointed the following individuals to the Traffic Safety Board:

Neil Bettez Term to Begin: Present New Paltz, NY 12561 Term Expires: 1/31/2028

Dominick Mercurio Term to Begin: Present Cottekill, NY 12419 Term Expires: 1/31/2028;

now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the Ulster County Legislature hereby confirms the appointment of the above listed individuals as members to the Traffic Safety Board for the term as indicated above,

- Page 2 -

Resolution No. 279 June 17, 2025

Confirming Appointments Of Neil Bettez And Dominick Mercurio To The Traffic Safety Board

and moves its adoption.			
	ADOPTED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:		:
	AYES:	NOES:	
Passed Committee: Law Enforcement and Public Safety on			
FINANCIAL IMPACT: NONE			