

# ULSTER COUNTY LEGISLATIVE NEWS

ULSTER COUNTY NEWS INFORMATION OFFICE OF ULSTER COUNTY LEGISLATURE 244 FAIR STREET KINGSTON, NEW YORK, 12401

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

PHONE: 845.340-3900 FAX: 845.340.3651 www.co.ulster.ny.us www.ulstercountyny.gov

January 25, 2019

# Ulster County Legislative Chair Tracey Bartels Announces Vice Chair and Standing Committee Appointments For 2019

Kingston, NY — Tracey Bartels, Chair of the Ulster County Legislature, has announced Standing Committee assignments for 2019. "This is a year of significant change which will require all committees to gain a deeper understanding of department initiatives beyond the resolutions put before them," said Bartels. "With a newly elected Sheriff and the anticipated change in leadership of the County Executive, it is critical that the Legislature take the opportunity to effectuate our role as defined in the Charter." Bartels is looking to create an environment where committees work closely together and have an enhanced understanding of programs and projects, all to ensure the needs of the people of Ulster County are met.

The initiatives Chairwoman Bartels and the committees will be focused on include a full review of the legislative rules, an analysis of the recently proposed GUS initiative as it relates to waste management solutions for Ulster County, an update of the County's economic development plan, and codifying an update of the County's long outdated Information Technology Security Policy and formalization of an IT disaster recovery plan.

The Chairwoman will be requesting that the Public Works Committee do an in-depth review of the Capital Improvement Program and that the Law Enforcement and Public Safety Committee undertake a study of departments under their purview including the Ulster County Sheriff and the Law Enforcement Center, the District Attorney, the Public Defender and the Probation Department. "Understanding how criminal justice is administered in Ulster County is key to being able to bring about change," Bartels commented.

The Ways & Means Committee will continue the process commenced last year to expand the departmental detail provided to all committees during the budget process. "The Legislature is charged by the Charter with the very serious responsibility of appropriating funds, including adopting a budget and capital program," said the Chairwoman. "This, in my view, is a year-long endeavor."

The Chairwoman has designated Legislator Dave Donaldson to serve as Vice Chair, noting that his experience and knowledge makes him a valued member of her leadership team. "I'm grateful that Legislator Donaldson has agreed to serve in this important capacity," she said.

"This Legislature has an incredible wealth of very talented and committed public servants. I am so grateful for every one of my colleagues' willingness to serve in these important roles and look forward to utilizing their unique knowledge and experience to deliver best results for our constituents," Bartels remarked. "At the end of the day we all have the same goal - to improve the lives of Ulster County residents."

Committee assignments for 2019 are as follows:

## ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT, TOURISM, HOUSING, PLANNING & TRANSIT

Hector Rodriguez, Chair Brian Woltman, Deputy Chair Lynn Archer James Delaune Mary Beth Maio James Maloney Joseph Maloney

#### **ENERGY AND ENVIRONMENT**

Manna Jo Greene, Chair Mary Wawro, Deputy Chair Lynn Eckert Jonathan Heppner Brian Woltman

#### LAW ENFORCEMENT AND PUBLIC SAFETY

Lynn Eckert, Chair Kenneth Ronk, Jr. Deputy Chair Julius Collins, Jr. Heidi Haynes Jonathan Heppner

### LAWS AND RULES, GOVERNMENTAL SERVICES

David Donaldson, Chair Kevin Roberts, Deputy Chair Jonathan Heppner Hector Rodriguez Kenneth Ronk, Jr.

### LEGISLATIVE PROGRAMS, EDUCATION AND COMMUNITY SERVICES

James Delaune, Chair Heidi Haynes, Deputy Chair Julius Collins, Jr. David Donaldson Mary Wawro

### **PUBLIC HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES**

Craig Lopez, Chair Kathy Nolan, Deputy Chair Julius Collins, Jr. Laura Petit Mary Wawro

### **PUBLIC WORKS AND CAPITAL PROJECTS**

Laura Petit, Chair Dean Fabiano, Deputy Chair Manna Jo Greene Herbert Litts, III Kathy Nolan

### **WAYS AND MEANS**

Lynn Archer, Chair Richard Gerentine, Deputy Chair Laura Petit Hector Rodriguez Marybeth Maio James Maloney Joseph Maloney

### **AUDIT COMMITTEE**

Joseph Maloney, Chair Lynn Archer Herbert Litts, III Richard Gerentine Hector Rodriguez

\*\*\*