Resolution No. 19 February 15, 2022

Appointing And Reappointing Members To The Recycling Oversight Committee

Referred to: The Energy, Environment and Sustainability Committee (Chairwoman Greene and Legislators Hansut, Erner, Maloney, and Stewart)

Legislator Laura Petit offers the following:

WHEREAS, Section 26 of Local Law Number 8 of 1991, The "Ulster County Mandatory Source Separation And Recycling Law," created a Recycling Oversight Committee; and

WHEREAS, Section 26 of Local Law Number 8 of 1991, after subsequent amendments was codified into §304-31 of the Code of the County of Ulster; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to §304-31 of the Code of the County of Ulster, the Recycling Oversight Committee shall consist of one member of the Resource Recovery Agency designated by the Agency Board to serve as a non-voting, ex-officio member and not more than eleven (11) voting members to be appointed by the County Legislature, consisting of an appointee from the following:

- (1) Town Supervisor's Association;
- (2) City of Kingston;
- (3) Energy and Environment Committee of the Legislature;
- (4) Ulster County Environmental Management Council;
- (5) Commercial Waste Hauling Industry;
- (6) Municipal Recycling Coordinators;
- (7) Commercial or Institutional Sector;
- (8) Multi Family Dwelling Interest; and

WHEREAS, further pursuant to §304-31, "Additionally the County Legislature shall appoint three (3) at-large community members with interest and concern which may include students but shall not include members that fall into previously mentioned categories;" and

WHEREAS, members of the Recycling Oversight Committee have been appointed pursuant to Resolution No. 382 of November 20, 2018, Resolution No. 94 of March 19, 2019, Resolution No. 173 of May 21, 2019, and Resolution No. 227 of June 16, 2020 and Resolution No. 156 of June 15, 2021; and

WHEREAS, terms have expired on the Recycling Oversight Committee, and new appointments and/or reappointments are necessary in order for the Committee to conduct its business; now, therefore be it

-Page 2-

Resolution No. 19 February 15, 2022

Appointing And Reappointing Members To The Recycling Oversight Committee

RESOLVED, upon recommendation of the Energy and Environment Committee, the following individuals are hereby appointed to the Ulster County Recycling Oversight Committee for a 3-year term effective immediately and expiring in 2025:

- (1) Town Supervisor's Association Supervisor Michael Baden, Rochester, NY
- (2) City of Kingston Mayor Steve Noble, Kingston, NY
- (3) Energy and Environment Committee of the Legislature Joe Maloney
- (4) Ulster County Environmental Management Council Margot Becker, Hurley, NY
- (5) Commercial Waste Hauling Industry- Jonathan Kaplan, Royal Carting
- (6) Municipal Recycling Coordinators Erin Enouen, Rochester, NY
- (7) Commercial or Institutional Sector Michael Boms, Hurley, NY
- (8) Multi Family Dwelling Interest TBD Stephen Cerini, Ulster Park, NY,
- (9) At-Large Member Laura Petit, Esopus, NY
- (10) At-Large Donna Egan, Wallkill, NY
- (11) At-Large TBD-Tiffanie James, Saugerties, NY

and move its adoption.

ADOPTED AS AMENDED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES: 22 NOES: 1 (Noes: Legislator Erner)

Passed Committee: Energy, Environment and Sustainability on February 3, 2022

-Page 3-

Resolution No. 19 February 15, 2022

Appointing And Reappointing Members To The Recycling Oversight Committee

FINANCIAL IMPACT: NONE

Legislator Petit motioned, seconded by Legislator Ronk, to add the names Stephen Cerini and Tiffanie James as appointees in the spots as indicated above.

MOTION ADOPTED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES: 22 NOES: 1 (Noes: Legislator Erner)

STATE OF NEW YORK S COUNTY OF ULSTER

I, the undersigned Clerk of the Legislature of the County of Ulster, hereby certify that the foregoing resolution is the original resolution adopted by the Ulster County Legislature on the 15th Day of February in the year Two Thousand Twenty-Two, and said resolution shall remain on file in the office of said clerk.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and seal of the County of Ulster this 17^{th} Day of February in the year Two Thousand Twenty-Two.

s Victoria A. Fabella Victoria A. Fabella, Clerk Ulster County Legislature