Resolution No. 173 May 21, 2019

Appointing Members To The Recycling Oversight Committee

Referred to: The Energy and Environment Committee (Chairwoman Greene and Legislators Eckert, Heppner, Wawro, and Woltman)

Chairwoman of the Legislature, Tracey A. Bartels and Chairwoman of the Energy and Environment Committee, Manna Jo Greene offer the following:

WHEREAS, pursuant to County of Ulster Local Law No. 8 of 2007, Section 26, a Recycling Oversight Committee was created; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to said Local Law, the Recycling Oversight Committee shall consist of one member of the Resource Recovery Agency designated by the Agency Board to serve as a non-voting, ex-officio member and not more than eleven (11) voting members to be appointed by the County Legislature, consisting of an appointee from the following:

- (1) Town Supervisor's Association;
- (2) City of Kingston;
- (3) Energy and Environment Committee of the Legislature;
- (4) Ulster County Environmental Management Council;
- (5) Commercial Waste Hauling Industry;
- (6) Municipal Recycling Coordinators;
- (7) Commercial or Institutional Sector;
- (8) Multi Family Dwelling Interest; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to said Local Law, "Additionally the County Legislature shall appoint three (3) at-large community members with interest and concern which may include students but shall not include members that fall into previously mentioned categories;" and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Resolution No. 382 of November 20, 2018, eight of eleven members of the Recycling Oversight Committee were appointed; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Resolution No. 94 of March 19, 2019, two of the three remaining vacancies were filled, leaving only an appointment representing the commercial waste hauling industry; and

WHEREAS, an additional vacancy was created with the resignation of Jo Ann Myers, as she was appointed to the Ulster County Resource Recovery Agency; now, therefore be it

- Page 2-

Resolution No. 173 May 21, 2019

Appointing Members To The Recycling Oversight Committee

RESOLVED, upon recommendation of the Energy and Environment Committee, the following individuals are hereby appointed to the Ulster County Recycling Oversight Committee for a three-year term, effective immediately and expiring on November 20, 2021:

- Commercial Waste Hauling Industry Jonathan Kaplan
- At-large Member John Schoonmaker;

and moves its adoption.

ADOPTED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES: 21 NOES: 0 (Absent: Legislator James Maloney) (Legislator Roberts left at 7:45 PM)

Passed Committee: Energy and Environment as amended on May 9, 2019

FINANCIAL IMPACT: NONE

STATE OF NEW YORK ss: COUNTY OF ULSTER

I, the undersigned Clerk of the Legislature of the County of Ulster, hereby certify that the foregoing resolution is the original resolution adopted by the Ulster County Legislature on the 21st Day of May in the year Two Thousand and Nineteen, and said resolution shall remain on file in the office of said clerk.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and seal of the County of Ulster this 24th Day of May in the year Two Thousand and Nineteen.

|s| Victoria A. Fabella Victoria A. Fabella, Clerk Ulster County Legislature